Anthony Levenda, PhD

DirectorCenter for Climate Action & SustainabilityEvergreen State CollegeEmail: Anthony.Levenda@evergreen.eduhttps://anthonylevenda.io/


Thomas Ptak, PhD

Assistant ProfessorDepartment of GeographyTexas State UniversityEmail: t-ptak@txstate.edu thomasptak.wordpress.com/


Gabriel Granco, PhD

Assistant Professor of GeographyDepartment of Geography and AnthropologyCalifornia State Polytechnic University, PomonaEmail: ggranco@cpp.eduhttps://ggranco.wixsite.com/gabrielgranco

Outreach Coordinators and Graduate Student/Postdoc Representatives

Adam Gallaher

PhD StudentDepartment of GeographyUniversity of ConnecticutEmail: adam.gallaher@uconn.edu

Marissa Bell, PhD

Postdoctoral FellowDepartment of CommunicationCornell University Email: marissa.bell@cornell.edu www.marissabell.com

Trey Murphy, PhD

Department of GeographyUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel HillEmail: murphyt@unc.edumurphy.web.unc.edu

Board of Directors

Ryan Stock, PhD

Assistant ProfessorDepartment of Earth, Environmental, & Geological Sciences Northern Michigan University Email: rystock@nmu.edu
Julia Haggerty, PhDAssociate ProfessorDepartment of Earth SciencesMontana State University Email: julia.haggerty@montana.edu http://resources4communities.org

Sean Kennedy, PhD

Department of Urban & Regional PlanningUniversity of Illinois Urbana- ChampaignEmail: seankenn@illinois.edu
Jennifer Baka, PhDAssistant ProfessorDepartment of GeographyPennsylvania State UniversityEmail: jeb525@psu.edu

Heather Bedi, PhD

Department of Environmental Studies Dickinson College Email: bedih@dickinson.edu

Elvin Delgado, PhD

Director, Integrated Energy Management ProgramDepartment of GeographyCentral Washington UniversityE-mail: delgadoe@cwu.edu

The Energy and Environment Specialty Group of the American Association of Geographers is a forum for promoting communication and interaction among geographers involved in energy and environmental issues, to enhance the contributions of geographers to energy and environmental research, and to assist in developing related educational curricula.

Established in Philadelphia in 1979 by geographers Martin J. Pasqualetti of Arizona State University and Jerome E. Dobson then at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, the EESG consists of over 450 AAG members with interest and expertise in the study and teaching of energy and environmental themes.

Each year the EESG organizes formal paper sessions and panel discussions at the annual meeting of the AAG (est. 1904) on the themes of energy, environment, or their combined study. The EESG sponsors paper competitions for both students and professionals (see Conferences), and facilitates information sharing amongst its members. Membership is welcomed from the full range of perspectives, methods, and research interests represented amongst geographers studying energy systems and their social and environmental dimensions.

Current Chair:

Anthony Levenda, Evergreen State College

Past Chairs:

2017-2019 Jordan Howell, Rowan University2015-2017 Jenn Baka, Pennsylvania State University2013-2015 Elvin Delgado, Central Washington University2011-2013 Matt Huber, Syracuse University2009-2011 Yda Schreuder, University of Delaware2005-2009 Scott Jiusto, Worcester Polytechnic Institute2002-2005 Barry Solomon, Michigan Technological University1999-2002 Dmitry Mesyanzhinov, Louisiana State University1996-1999 Mike Pasqualetti, Arizona State University1994-1996 Marilyn Brown, Oak Ridge National Laboratory1992-1994 Jeff Osleeb, Hunter College1990-1992 Susan Macey, Southwest Texas State University1988-1990 Barry Solomon, Energy Information Administration/U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Energy Specialty Group

1986-1988 Marilyn Brown, Oak Ridge National Laboratory1984-1986 Frank Calzonetti, West Virginia University1982-1984 Mike Pasqualetti, Arizona State University1979-1982 Jerry Dobson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory