About EESG

The Energy and Environment Specialty Group of the American Association of Geographers is a forum for promoting communication and interaction among geographers involved in energy and environmental issues, to enhance the contributions of geographers to energy and environmental research, and to assist in developing related educational curricula.

Established in Philadelphia in 1979 by geographers Martin J. Pasqualetti of Arizona State University and Jerome E. Dobson then at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, the EESG consists of over 450 AAG members with interest and expertise in the study and teaching of energy and environmental themes.

Each year the EESG organizes formal paper sessions and panel discussions at the annual meeting of the AAG (est. 1904) on the themes of energy, environment, or their combined study. The EESG sponsors paper competitions for both students and professionals (see Conferences), and facilitates information sharing amongst its members. Membership is welcomed from the full range of perspectives, methods, and research interests represented amongst geographers studying energy systems and their social and environmental dimensions.

Current Chair: Anthony Levenda, University of Oklahoma

Past Chairs:

2017-2019 Jordan Howell, Rowan University

2015-2017 Jenn Baka, Pennsylvania State University

2013-2015 Elvin Delgado, Central Washington University

2011-2013 Matt Huber, Syracuse University

2009-2011 Yda Schreuder, University of Delaware

2005-2009 Scott Jiusto, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

2002-2005 Barry Solomon, Michigan Technological University

1999-2002 Dmitry Mesyanzhinov, Louisiana State University

1996-1999 Mike Pasqualetti, Arizona State University

1994-1996 Marilyn Brown, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

1992-1994 Jeff Osleeb, Hunter College

1990-1992 Susan Macey, Southwest Texas State University

1988-1990 Barry Solomon, Energy Information Administration/U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Energy Specialty Group

1986-1988 Marilyn Brown, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

1984-1986 Frank Calzonetti, West Virginia University

1982-1984 Mike Pasqualetti, Arizona State University

1979-1982 Jerry Dobson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory