EESG Best Student Paper AWARD

The student paper award provides a cash award of $400 and a plaque to recognize outstanding research scholarship. The cash prize are awarded during the business meeting of the EESG at the AAG annual meeting.


  • Multi-authored papers are acceptable, but the student must be the lead author of the paper

  • The candidate must be an enrolled graduate student at the time of submission

  • All treatments (theoretical, conceptual, methodological) of energy geography topics are valid

  • The candidate must present the paper at that year's AAG national conference

Review Criteria:

  • Originality

  • Significance of topic

  • Contribution to literature

  • Theoretical contribution

  • Execution (including analysis and clarity of expression)

Submission instructions:

  • Submission deadline February 19th, 2023 at 11:59 PM Pacific Time

  • Submit your paper by filling out the below form or following this link

  • For question, contact Co-EESG Outreach Coordinator Elena Louder (

Current Winner:

2022: Edgar Virgüez, Duke University

Past Winners:

2021: Carelle Mang-Benza, "Many shades of pink in the energy transition: Seeing women in energy extraction, production, distribution, and consumption", PhD candidate, University of Western Ontario

2020: Danya Al-Saleh, University of Wisconsin, Madison

2019: No Applicants

2018: Meredith DeBoom, University of Colorado at Boulder

2017: Tyler Harland, University of California at Los Angeles

2016: Trey Murphy, Texas A&M University

2015: Thomas Loder, Texas A&M University