Advancing Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Description: The objective of this award is to advance diversity and promote inclusion and interest in the field of Energy Geography. In recognizing and acknowledging inequities manifest in contemporary social circumstances, particularly academic settings, the Energy and Environment Specialty Group of the American Association of Geographers welcomes and encourages submissions from those who identify as members of diverse populations. We recognize that the concept of diversity is broad, complex, and dynamic; we are particularly interested in submissions from traditionally underrepresented populations.

  • Award: The awardee will receive AAG membership along with Energy and Environment Specialty Group dues, conference registration, and $250 to cover costs associated with attending the conference. Award winners will be required to attend the Energy and Environment Specialty Group business meeting and coffee hour networking session.

  • Criteria: Individuals are eligible, regardless of their current status as AAG members. We strongly encourage students, postdocs, and early career faculty for application or nomination.

  • Applications and Nominations: To apply for the award, or nominate someone, simply include the following details of the individual:

      • complete name,

      • contact email address,

      • short application (nomination) statement. The statement should be 100-250 words that describe how you (or the individual nominated) would contribute to the inclusion and increased representation of underrepresented groups within the Energy and Environment Specialty Group and detail your/their (proposed) contributions to energy geographies.

      • Nominations and applications should be sent to EESG Chair, Anthony Levenda ( by March 1st, 2021.

Past Winners:

2021: Edgar Virguez, Duke University