Professional Geographer Award

AAG EESG Guidelines for Professional Geographer Award

Rationale: At the 2015 EESG business meeting, we voted to modify the Professional Geographer Award selection process. The award will be given based on a review of published papers in peer reviewed journals, which will be nominated for consideration by the EESG community. The winner will give the EESG plenary at the AAG for that academic year and will serve as a judge for the award for at least the next year. This document outlines eligibility, selection criteria and a timeline for the award.

Candidate Eligibility:

  • Candidate must have completed graduate school (i.e. currently holds a Master’s or PhD degree)

  • Candidate must be the primary author of the paper

  • Candidate must attend the AAG and give the plenary talk

  • Candidate must be willing to serve as a judge for the Professional Geographer award for at least the next year

Paper Eligibility:

  • Papers will be nominated by the EESG membership

  • Paper must have been published in a peer-reviewed academic journal within the last three years (2016-2019)

  • All treatments (theoretical, conceptual, methodological) of energy geography topics will be considered

Review Criteria:

  • Papers will be evaluated using a 1-4 scale (1: poor, 4: outstanding) for the following criteria:

  • Originality

  • Significance of the topic

  • Contribution to energy geography literature

  • Theoretical engagement

  • Potential impact beyond academia


  • Nomination period: Now until March 1st 2021.

  • Review period: March 1st until April 1st (1 month)

  • Winner announcement: Beginning of April


  • Winner will receive $300 (the current award amount for the Professional Geographer award)

Nomination Process:

Please send to nominations to Anthony Levenda ( Please include the following in your nomination:

  • A PDF copy of the paper

  • A brief paragraph explaining why you are nominating the paper with reference to the criteria outlined above

Past Winners

2021: No contest.

2020: Michael Simpson, University of St. Andrews: “The Annihilation of Time by Space: Pluri-Temporal Strategies of Capitalist Circulation.” Environment and Planning E: Nature and Space 2, no. 1 (March 2019): 110–28.

2019: Julia Haggerty, University of Montana, and Adrianne Kropesch, Colorado School of Mines: “Geographies of Impact and the Impacts of Geography: Unconventional Oil and Gas in the American West.” The Extractive Industries and Society 5 (4): 619–33.

2018: No Applicants

2017: Mónica Salas Landa, Cornell Unviersity, "Crude residues: The workings of failing oil infrastructures in Poza Rica, Veracruz, Mexico." Environment and Planning A 48 (4): 718-735.