EESG Paper Competitions - AAG 2014: The Luten and Cook Awards

The Energy and Environment Specialty Group is sponsoring two awards for the next Annual Meeting of the AAG.

  • The Daniel B. Luten Award is for the best paper by a professional geographer
  • The Earl Cook Award is for the best paper by a student


The topic must be on energy, environment, or a mix of the two, and it must be delivered in person at the annual AAG meeting

The award includes $250 prize, an engraved plaque, and formal announcement at the AAG meeting 

Papers will be judged by a panel of experts within the Energy and Environmental Specialty Group of the AAG



Notice of intent (Title and/or Abstract preferred) - November 1, 2013

Completed paper (in MS Word) – February 15, 2014

Send all correspondence and papers to Prof. Martin J. (Mike) Pasqualetti, Chair, Awards Committee of the EESG, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona.  Pasqualetti@ASU.EDU