EESG Travel Awards to the AAG Annual Meeting

This award will not be offered in 2021 as the AAG meeting will be held virtually due to COVID-19. When the meetings resume in-person activities, the award will be offered.

The Energy and Environment Specialty Group (EESG) of the AAG will offer support to graduate students who plan to travel to present at the AAG Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado in April 2020. This year EESG is offering 3 awards of $200 for MS/PhD students to support travel.

Please send an email to Anthony Levenda at no later than November 1, 2020, expressing your interest in the travel award. Include a single PDF document in the email providing the following information:

  • Abstract and PIN of your conference paper and associated conference session

  • Detailed budget justification of your travel, including all other travel supports you will receive.

  • Justification of how the EESG Travel Award benefits your attendance at the AAG annual meeting (250 word maximum). Please also indicate if you are the first-time AAG conference attendee.

  • The subject heading of your email should state "EESG Travel Award Submission"

If selected, you will be asked to provide a travel itinerary (e.g., airline, train, bus ticket) to Denver, Colorado, by March 5th, 2020. The award will go to the next student on the waiting list under any of the following circumstances: (1) if you fail to provide an itinerary; (2) if you are not present for your presentation; (3) if you participate in and win prize money from the Earl Cook student paper competition. The travel award winners will be announced and recognized at our annual EESG business meeting.

For questions, please reach out to EESG Chair, Anthony Levenda (

Past Winners:

2021: Applications Not Accepted

2020: Natallia Leuchanka Diessner, University of New Hampshire; William Delgado, University of Texas at Austin; and Dong Liu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign